LCCC Students Named 2020-2021 All-Pennsylvania Academic Team Members

published Thursday, March 25, 2021
Two Lehigh Carbon Community College (LCCC) students, Jamie Knerr of Slatedale, and Ian Miller of Allentown, have been named members of the 2020-2021 All- Pennsylvania Academic Team, which is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa (the international honor society for two-year colleges), the Coca Cola Corporation, the State System of Higher Education (PASSHE) and the Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges (PACCC). They will be recognized during a virtual ceremony on April 15.
Jamie Knerr, a graduate of Northern Lehigh High School, is a Business Administration/Communications major at LCCC, as well as the president of LCCC’s Phi Theta Kappa Chapter. Knerr is also the Student Government Association vice president and is a member of Kappa Beta Delta, the honor society for business majors at two-year schools. She is also in the Honor Scholars Program at LCCC and has volunteered at numerous college events including New Student Convocation, Open House, Out of the Darkness Walk, the Purple Pinkie Run and Phi Theta Kappa Awareness events.  Knerr plans to continue her education in business administration at East Stroudsburg University.
Ian Miller graduated from William Allen High School and is a psychology major at LCCC. He serves as the secretary of Phi Theta Kappa and was one of the lead scholars on the chapter’s Honor in Action Project that examined the role of first- person narrative stories in recorded history. In addition, Miller has volunteered at the LCCC Cougar Cabinet, the college’s food pantry. He also attended the PTK Middle States Region, MSR Leads summer program and completed the PTK Edge Research course. He is a member of Psi Beta, the national honor society for Psychology majors and plans to continue his studies in psychology at West Chester University.
Selection for the academic team is competitive and students must have completed at least 36 credits at a community college and earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.
Each member of the All- Pennsylvania Academic Team receives a full two-year scholarship to any of the universities in the PASSHE system and competes at the national level for scholarships from the All-USA Academic Team and the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.
In addition, two LCCC students were nominated for the New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar program, which will recognize one student from each state who receives the highest All-USA Academic Team application score LCCC’s candidates for the Workforce Scholar are Brooke Lutz of Center Valley and Makaela Schoenly of Macungie.
Students nominated for the Workforce Pathway should be planning to enter the workforce after completing a certificate or associate degree. The New Century Pathway Scholarship program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, the American Association of Community Colleges and Phi Theta Kappa.
Both Lutz and Schoenly are members of Phi Theta Kappa and are currently majoring in health science at LCCC. Lutz’s career goal is to become a veterinary technician. Schoenly is a graduate of Salem Christian School, and her career goal is to become an occupational therapist assistant.