LCCC Awards 2017 Scholarships from the Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund

published Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Two Lehigh Carbon Community College (LCCC) students were presented with a total of $3,500 in scholarship awards from the Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund at a luncheon provided by LCCC’s Foundation on April 3. Students selected exemplified a high degree of scholarship, friendship, leadership and service. The scholars were joined by guests and members of the Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund (KHMF) board of directors. In addition to the awards, a donation of $500 was given to the LCCC Foundation.
Brian Mahoney of Neffs received the 2017 Krysta Hankee Leadership Award. Mahoney’s award was presented by Kim Bentz, director of sales and marketing at Pacesetter Enterprises and KHMF vice president. He is a full-time student at LCCC working toward a career in Occupational Therapy, and his $2,000 award will be used as needed to address his educational needs.
Also recognized at the award luncheon was Mackenzie Rosenberger of Jim Thorpe. Rosenberger is a dual enrollment student taking classes as a senior at Jim Thorpe High School and a freshman at LCCC. She received a $1,500 educational grant presented by Jean Zellner, KHMF Scholarship selection committee member, and will use her award as needed to advance her education at LCCC.     
These scholarships are given in memory of Krysta Hankee, daughter of Bill and Chris Hankee and sister of Kyle Hankee.  Krysta lived in the Lehigh Valley most of her life and took classes at LCCC. She graduated from New York University in 2007.  A few months after beginning her short career at Triangle Equities in Whitestone, N.Y., she collapsed in a gym and passed away a few days later. The Hankee family is proud of these scholars for exemplifying many of the same community-focused traits found in Krysta.
For more information about LCCC’s scholarships, visit Applications for the Krysta Hankee LCCC award will be open February 2019. To apply for the Krysta Hankee Memorial Fund, visit

Pictured from left to right: Committee members Jean and Ken Zellner, Kim Bentz; Award recipients Mackenzie Rosenberger and Brian Mahoney; and family members Chris and Bill Hankee, Deborah Romig.