LCCC Announces Winners of Aug. 4, 2014 Annual Foundation Golf Classic

The Lehigh Carbon Community College (LCCC) Foundation held its 21st annual Scholarship Golf Classic at Woodstone Country Club in Danielsville, on August 4.  Golfers and volunteers were treated to one of the most beautiful days of the summer, along with near-pristine course conditions thanks to an extra effort made by Woodstone.  The generosity of individual players and the many corporate sponsors made for a return for the day of over $25,000 to the LCCC Foundation’s general scholarship fund. The day’s activities were capped with a multitude of individual and team prizes and a scrumptious dinner.


Eighty-four golfers competed in the tournament.  At the evening’s dinner and awards ceremony, the following awards were presented:


        CATEGORY                                                                  NAME                                                            SCORE


First Flight 1st place                                                  Mark Thompson, Bret Buchman,           125

                                                                                        John Sylvia, John Rosario


First Flight 2nd place                                                 Todd Beasley, Rodger Hendricks,          127

                                                                                        Steve Rose, Tyler Massar


First Flight 3rd place                                                 Mike Pistone, Fred Hamm,                       129

                                                                                        Barry Bartakovits, Darrie Krause


Second Flight 1st place                                            Steve Flank, Dean Altemose,                  143

                                                                                        Omar Zucco, Matt Searles


Second Flight 2nd place                                           Rick Marlatt, Thanos Milios,                    145*

                                                                                        Cindy Brooks, Chad Ganley


Second Flight 3rd place                                           Greg Fedak, Mike Mummey,                  145

                                                                                        Karl Peilmeier, Scott Masenheimer


Third Flight 1st place                                                Matt McKernan, Aaron Peters,              152

                                                                                        Jason Wilson, Chris Wells


Third Flight 2nd place                                               Kevin Buxton, Todd Chambers               155

                                                                                        Brandon Quigney, Nick Hewes                  


Third Flight 3rd place                                                Jane Brooks, Richard Brooks,                   156

                                                                                        Winney Melinsky, Randy Hensinger


        Longest Drive

        Women                                                                        Morgan Reibman

        Men                                                                              Dave Farver


        Straightest Drive                                                      Rodger Hendricks


        Closest to the Pin                                                    Chad Ganley at 7’ 4”


Special Awards

        Pot of Gold Winner                                                 Todd Lichtenwalter at 5’

        Putting Contest Winner                                        Ed Refsnider

        Pinehurst Winner                                                    Mark Thompson

        Putt for Eagle                                                             Mark Thompson, John Sylvia, Dean Altemose,

                                                                                                Todd Chambers


*Won on USGA Match of Cards


Scores were based on the results of the Modified Scramble Format.


Mark Thompson, a partner at MKSD, Architects, LLC, and member of the LCCC Foundation Board, chaired the event. As a result of this year’s success, the LCCC Foundation will award an increased number of need-based scholarships and grants during the upcoming academic year.