All campuses of Lehigh Carbon Community College will open two hours late on Mon., March 2, with classes starting at 10 a.m. Classes will operate under the compressed class schedule. 

Offices will open at 9 a.m.


Welcome to the Psychology Department at Lehigh Carbon Community College

Congratulations to Lia Zakarian!Lia Zakarian, LCCC Student of the Year

Lia Zakarian, an A.A. gradute of the psychology program at Lehigh Carbon Community was named the Lehigh Carbon Community College Faculty Association Student of the Year at the May 2013 Commencement Ceremony.  Lia, and her husband Dino, are pictured here after she received the award, the most prestigious student award given at commencement.  Congratulations to Lia and best wishes on her future academic and career endeavors.

Congratulations to Dr. Swope and Professor Schappell

Faculty Excellence Award - Dr. Betsy Swope

In recent years, Dr. Swope has transformed the Psychology A.S. program by strengthening undergraduate research activities in the capstone courses: using innovative technology, implementing iTunes University, ANGEL (course management system), and SPSS research software in her classrooms. She is also co-chair of the Quality Matters initiative for faculty to improve online course development and teaching.
Dr. Swope frequently accompanies students to regional conferences and actively participates with the department's initiative in college-wide assessment.  She also recently assisted in the revision of the psychology program and course curriculum.

George W. Elison Faculty Service Award - Professor Winona Schappell

Professor Schappell has dedicated more than 25 years to LCCC, with 19 years in Disability Support Services and seven in the Human Services program. She is the coordinator for the Social Science division and plays a crucial role in the Middle States review process.  In past years, she has been a strong presence on the LCCC Faculty Association, serving as its vice president and as part of the negotiations team.
In addition to her teaching, Professor Schappell coordinates student internships in the Human Services field and gained national accreditation for the Human Services degree.  She recently created a new program, an A.A. in Social Work.

The Psychology Department is housed in the Community Services Center (CSC) on the Schnecksville campus.  The following faculty are full-time faculty teaching in the Psychology department:

Gary Andrews, Instructor
CSC 102D     610-799-1647

Jenna Prosser Duke, Associate Professor
ARC 301         610-799-1505

Robin Musselman, Ed.D., Professor
CSC 102E      610-799-1531

Winona Schappell, Professor
Program Coordinator for Human Services
ARC 301         610-799-1180

Betsy Swope, Ph.D., Instructor
CSC 102C     610-799-1885

Ann Turoczy, Assistant Professor
CSC 102E     610-799-18908

The Psychology Club meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 2:15 p.m. when classes are in session in the Community Services Center, Room 102A.  Students with additional questions about the Psychology Club should contact Gary Andrews, advisor.

Psi Beta, the National Honor Society for students in two year colleges with an interest in psychology, is advised by Dr. Robin Musselman.  Students interested in joining Psi Beta should contact Dr. Musselman.